Presidential Candidates 2008

Well I haven’t written about the republican or democrat candidates in quite a while because things are a changin’ every time I turn the tube on.  But I thought I’d take a few minutes now and comment on what is happening thus far.  Remember these are only my opinions people so you loyal Ron Paul followers…take a deep breath here.

Let’s start with the democrats.  I personally have a very strong dislike for each of these candidates.  We are polar opposites on every issue at hand.  All three want to pull out of Iraq without considering the consequences.  All three will ultimately raise taxes to pay for universal health care which is a big no no!  Actually, Obama’s health care plan does not call for universal as does Hillary’s and John Edwards’.  There’s not much more to say about the 3 candidates that isn’t already obvious to everyone (at least it’s so obvious to me…am I assuming here?).  Hillary’s on a major power trip (and Bill is doing her no favors by campaigning for her).  I think she will be in shell shock soon as it seems Obama is taking the lead with delegates.  The thought of any of these three candidates running the most powerful country in the world is frightening to me.  Obama has hardly any experience in his FIRST term as senator let alone running a country….oye vey!  John Edwards said several months ago to a group that he does not want the United States to be known as a “Christian country” by the rest of the world.  That statement is just so wrong on a multitude of levels that I fear if I start tearing into it, I may break out in hives in sheer agitation.  So let’s move on to the Republicans.

Fred Thompson withdrew this past week and he has 8 delegates to throw toward another candidate.  As the campaigning has progressed and the debates are well under way, I have to say I get more and more irritated with Mike Huckabee.  Which has surprised me because he is very vocal about his Christian faith which I love.  But religion aside…I’m just annoyed.  I think his fair tax plan is interesting and I’ve been calculating numbers to see if I would have more money in my pocket under his plan.  But I haven’t come up with a definitive answer on that.  Of course paychecks would be much bigger.  But you make up for that with a flat tax on every single thing purchased.  The interesting thing about this is that drug dealers, gamblers, pimps and prostitutes would finally have to pay tax.  How it works is the IRS would be abolished so no federal tax would be withheld from your paycheck.  So you also wouldn’t get that great rebate check every year.  However, you would be taxed a flat rate everywhere you go…the gas station, the grocery store, the barber etc.  This is why I say drug dealers, gamblers, pimps and prostitutes would finally have to pay tax…because they would be taxed this high rate on their normal daily purchases.  As a family of 5 (four of whom are males with hearty appetites), my weekly grocery bill is already nauseating, throw on 20% more tax to my total and I would probably start hyperventilating at each check out.  But in the same breath, you have the higher paycheck so if you balance your budget correctly, it should all work out in the end.  Back to Huckabee, I fear for us if he was leading our country and he has zilch experience with foreign policy.  I understand that is what advisers are for but the head honcho has to have a thorough understanding at least of the policies.  Republicans in general have stayed away from the issue of health care during the debates.  Because they no that is a death trap.  If you want my humble opinion…put a cap on these frivolous lawsuits (hello tort reform) and you’ll see diminished premiums for our doctors who in turn will lower their costs as will the hospitals.  It’s a trickle down effect that would take years to get the desired goal of low cost insurance.  But it’s a great ideology that is completely workable if Americans weren’t so greedy and me, me, me when it comes to $$$$.  A friend of mine’s husband is a very well-known and respected ob/gyn in our city.  He’s been delivering babies for thirty years.  But the premiums these doctors have to pay in Illinois are so high, even he couldn’t afford them.  So he opened up practice in North Carolina where there is a cap on litigation damages so premiums are very reasonable for him to pay there.  He flies home every weekend to be with his wife and kids.  Isn’t that a kicker????  Duncan Hunter also had a very fascinating and realistic solution to these insurance premiums.  As it stands right now, if you live in Illinois you have to get Illinois HMO, PPO etc.  And that’s how it is for each state.  Duncan Hunter suggested that if they open the states up so that people could shop for insurance in whichever state offered the cheapest premiums but could use the insurance in whichever state they resided, the laws of supply and demand (and good old fashioned competition) would automatically lower rates on a continuous basis to stay alive in the market.  On to Rudy Guiliani, I think Rudy will be done after Tuesday.  He put all his eggs in one basket by campaigning exclusively in Florida.  He did campaign really well there but he is not leading in the polls.  If he does not win the primary on Tuesday, I am betting that he will bow out.  I believe it comes down to John McCain and Mitt Romney…sorry Ron Paul, but did you ever really have a chance???  Mitt Romney is growing on me.  He definitely did nothing for me until just recently.  His forte is economics and with talk of the big bad R word (recession), he has been a shining star.  But John McCain has 20+ years military experience and 20+ years congressional experience and I think those two things alone are priceless.  In one debate he vowed with vehemence that if he became president, he knows how to get Bin Laden and I think we should hold him to that.  So as of today (but like I said, things keep a changin’) I am now torn between John McCain and Mitt Romney.  I encourage all of you to look into all of the candidates and make educated, informed decisions come voting day!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “Presidential Candidates 2008”

  1. davidkfuller Says:

    20 reasons not to vote for Juan McAmnesty:

    http://davidkfuller.blogspot.com/search/label/20%20Reasons%20Not%20To%20Vote%20for%20Juan%20McAmnesty

Leave a Reply

