Decisions, Decisions

I can’t tell you how thrilled I was with last night’s republican debate hosted by Fox News.  I finally saw these candidates roll up their sleeves and dig in.  What a relief.  At this point, I am still very much undecided but I thought I would share my views of the candidates.

Rudy Guiliani:  I very much like this man.  His power and presence was very much relied upon during 9/11.  He has a very strong demeanor and a tough stance on just about everything.  I very much like that he also is usually the first one to laugh out loud at the appropriate times.  I am a firm believer in a sense of humor and he doesn’t just chuckle.  He downright guffaws…and I like that.  I can definitely picture him meeting with leaders around the world and making them feel comfortable but staying extremely strong on his mission.  I think on a one on one debate with Hillary; he would shame her ruthlessly (and she needs it).  Last night at the debate I was happy to hear that although previously he has not been prone to want to amend the Constitution defining marriage, he does state now that if more states start recognizing same sex marriage, he will have no problem adding that amendment to the Constitution.  My spirit though is not at ease about his stance on abortion.  Although he personally is pro-life, he has vowed not to touch Roe v. Wade and leave it in the hands of the states.  I am also concerned about his three marriages.  I do feel that 9/11 proved that no matter what was going on inside his own house, he was able to perform the job he was elected to do proudly and strongly with wonderful results.  I believe he will probably be the Republican nominee.  On a side note…does anyone else think he looks like Chicken Little???

Former Governor Mike Huckabee:  I really like the values of Governor Huckabee.  He received his degree from a Baptist college and went on to be a minister before becoming Governor of Arkansas.  He definitely stands for everything I believe in as far as a moral compass goes.  He brought up some good ideas during the debate and I especially appreciated his seriousness when discussing Hillary Clinton.  She is a definite threat to the United States economy, safety and morality.  But on the downside, I just really have a hard time picturing Governor Huckabee leading in a time of crisis.  I don’t know if it’s his gentle spirit or that Southern drawl.  But I really was trying to envision him leading our country in crisis mode (if need arises) and also sitting down and talking with other National leaders from across the world.  It’s very hard for me to picture this.  I see that Chuck Norris is officially endorsing him and I do respect Chuck Norris as well.  I do not see Governor Huckabee getting endorsed by a large mass of people to earn the GOP nomination.  I may be wrong, but this is my view and as in past primaries, you just never know what is really going to happen.

Congressman Duncan Hunter of California:  I really like this man.  He is one of my top picks.  This is a no-nonsense man.  He is extremely strong on defense, he is very informed with all matters across the board and very acute to the foreign policy.  His son has served two tours in Iraq and is currently in Afghanistan.  I am very frustrated because the press (even Fox News) does not give him or Huckabee much airtime.  They rarely discuss him and I believe this to be a grave mistake.  During the last two debates when they do call on Congressman Hunter, he gives knock-out answers.  For instance, in last night’s debate Mitt Romney was toting his healthcare plan that he created and passed in his home state of Massachusettes.  Sounded impressive at first until Hunter nailed him on the regulations of his health care plan.  You can’t pick and choose which things would benefit your family.  All options are included in that healthcare (as ridiculous as that seems).  For instance, Duncan Hunter pointed out that Romney’s healthcare covers fertility treatments for senior citizens.  Of course this is ridiculous and no senior citizen would ever get fertility treatment.  But they still have to pay for that and there are a thousand of these regulations.  Hunter would propose that Americans would be able to buy private health care from any state, not just the state they are living in.  This is brilliant!  And so common sense.  If we were able to buy health care from other states, it would drive the prices a lot lower.  I think this is just a great idea and I look forward to more on this in the future.  Congressman Hunter is also very passionate about getting the jobs that went overseas back to America.  He laid out to the American people that for every job that went overseas, that’s another paycheck that doesn’t contribute to social security or medicare/medicaid.  Also our trade agreements are such that we are not charging as much tax as we are being charged by other countries.  He vows to do a mirror tax meaning if one country charges us 20% tax on our export, we will charge them the same.  Common sense would tell us that we are already practicing this but thanks to Congressman Hunter, we all now know that this is definitely not the case.  But Congressman Hunter does not have the money the other candidates have.  If we could base our vote on their words and actions and voting record only, this would be a no-brainer to me.  But America revolves around money and usually the one with the most dough wins.  I would definitely like to see more press time for this man because he is 100% presidential material!

Senator John McCain from Arizona:  I really like and respect this man.  I think he has a quiet resolve that people mistake for weakness.  He was great last night.  He informed us of Hillary’s bid to launch a museum honoring Woodstock using $1 million of the taxpayer’s money.  His response to this was “I was tied up at the time” [of Woodstock].  Meaning he was a POW while the hippies back home were having a pharmaceutical fest at Woodstock.  He received a standing ovation for this.  I like where he stands on most issues except for illegal immigration.  He has taken a lot of heat for this but he has remained steadfast in his belief.  He has dedicated twenty-four years of service to America and he definitely has the experience to lead this country. 

Congressman Ron Paul of Texas:  All I have to say is…where did this guy come from?  He doesn’t stand for anything Republican.  He seems to have way more in common with the Democrats.  I definitely do not forsee this man winning in the primaries.  If he does, I think we all better be in anticipation of the Rapture!

Former Governor Mitt Romney of Massachussettes:  This candidate does nothing for me.  He does not appeal to me in the least.  I know he has won a lot of the Republicans over, but not me.  And one thing these debates have done for me is to see this man as slick.  I’ve caught it time and time again.  I also think over time they will start labeling him a flip flopper as they did John Kerry.  He looks presidential but I do not believe it would be in our best interest to have him as President. 

Congressman Tom Tancredo of Colorado:  I can’t figure this guy out.  He doesn’t appeal to me, but I don’t dislike him either.  I think he has some good ideas and good points, but I just don’t see it coming together for him.  I need to do some more research on this man to make a more informative opinion. 

Former Senator Fred Thompson of Tennessee:  Again, here is one of my top picks.  This man is 100% pro-life and has an established voting record to back it up.  He has been classified time and again by my GOP and news peers as “as close to a forefather as you can get.”  He is the real deal.  He has those good old-fashioned values and has not wavered on his stances at all.  He has a lifetime of public service dating back to even the Watergate scandal.  I think he will be one of the front runners.  I think his laid back personality may mislead people.  He has an unbelievable strength about him and knows his facts.  National leaders will find him a quiet force to be reckoned with…along the lines of Ronald Reagan. 

Listen, Hillary will be the Democrat candidate.  She is a slithery snake.  People would be making a catastrophic mistake if she were to become president.  And I do believe the majority of Americans understand this.  She and her husband made a mockery of the decency that coincides with the White House.  I can’t wait for people to bring up the mysterious deaths surrounding their family (no one I know has had multiple mysterious deaths in or close to their families), they stole things from the White House upon their grand exit etc.  I look forward to the upcoming months and will be updating my blog steadily.  I hope I have conveyed my opinions eloquently.  Remember…this is what jojosays!

One Response to “Decisions, Decisions”

  1. Don Jones Says:

    Hey you did really good. I am so close on agreeing 100% except your bicycle chain came off when you leaned more to Rudy than to Fred. Both excellent men, but Fred has the edge.

    Wine loses it’s value after it has remained opened or if air is left in the bottle. Rudy leaves his wine bottle open and it is not quite right left overnight. Fred finishes his and open’s a fresh one daily so we all get the proper taste of the man each day, and each day he grows on us.

    Stick with Fred Folks. He is the real answer to America. Now if Rudy wants to be VP and Fred ask’s him, Whoopie!
    Don Jones
    MyManFred.com

Leave a Reply

