Let Freedom Ring…

It’s hard to believe that 6 years have gone by already. On one hand, it seems like the terrorists attacked us eons ago.  But on the other hand, it seems like it happened just yesterday.  I remember exactly what I was doing that fateful day as does every adult American.  I was at work and tracking some stock quotes on the ticker.  The upper corner of my computer monitor had CNBC running and I actually saw the second plane hit while they were discussing the first plane.  That is the day my oldest son with special needs was “released” from his fourth preschool because they “didn’t know what to do with him.”  That is the day we were having the exterior of our house painted.  One of the painters had a bad cold and on my lunch, I gave him a Benadryl and a travel packet of kleenex.  That is the day that I decided Ashleigh Banfield was my favorite journalist and I truly did like her glasses.  These are the incosequential details that I never would have remembered had it been any other day.   They are burned into the memory part of my brain that processes trauma.  The day will be forever be ingrained in our spirits, our minds and our country. 

So today as I had a few minutes to gather my wits after driving an hour to get to preschool and back, running to the store etc., I turned on the television to see how they would commentate on the memory of September 11th.  Of course I turned to Fox News first (my favorite) and nothing was interesting to me.  I turned on CNN (my least favorite but it’s the next channel up from Fox) and again nothing that interested me too much.  And then I turned on MSNBC and I found myself holding my breath.  They were re-broadcasting that tragic day for 3 hours.  Whatever time was on my clock, that was the exact time I was watching on the tv, but 6 years earlier.  They showed the planes hit, the people running, the commentary without commercial, without editing.  It was exactly what we saw in 2001.  It was like a total reality check.  A slap in the face if you will.  But not in a bad way.  In the way that my television was screaming at me…WAKE UP AND DON’T FORGET.  I listened to Tom Brokaw saying how this will change the course of our lives forever.  That we are at war (and this was before we even knew what was going on or before any more planes had hit).  Katie Couric came on with a message alert.  She stated that across the wire they were being told that thousands of Palestinians were celebrating and dancing and passing out candy and shouting “God is good.”  I wish every station, every year would re-broadcast what happened.  Everyone forgets what really happened to us on that day.  Americans are quick to say that 3000 people died.  But the thought stops there.  Americans are known for their short term memory so to speak.  I want all Americans to re-live that day by seeing the smoke from a whole city that lasted for weeks, strangers clutching strangers, people helping ANYONE they saw, the rage toward our attackers (which seems to have all but disappeared), the beeps of the firemen’s uniforms so that they didn’t get lost in the pitch black streets.  I WANT EVERYONE TO RE-LIVE THIS.  I believe it is imperative to keep that thought at the forefront of our minds at all times.  Do not take these times for granted.  All the freedoms and rights that we enjoy and rely on in this country is the exact reason why we are so despised amongst so many other countries.  And they will stop at nothing to see that we are terminated.  Their foolishness propels them.  Their ignorance misguides them.  And their hatred feeds them.

 My fellow Americans, I love this country.  Let’s all do our part (however small or large it may be), and cling to the Rock that was essential in developing and founding this country.  That Rock is Jesus.  Jesus saw us through that tragedy and if we rely on Him and continuously pray for this nation and our leaders, God will continuously bless this country.  May us ALL be united in prayer…now more than ever!

One Response to “Let Freedom Ring…”

  1. Thomas Annerino Says:

    I love your passion and conviction. This is just one of the many reasons why I love you so much.

    Just like Jo Jo says, everyone needs to remember Sept. 11th, 2001. We were attacked by a very real evil and there is only one way to combat evil. That is through the power and majesty of Jesus Christ.

    Great blog post!!

Leave a Reply

